Materials – Ground

I started creating some materials for this project (Fransworth House) and the first is the ground material. I am using a  material test scene I got from Bertrand Benoit Blog.  You can download it here.

I wanted to create basic, but realistic material, so I can start working with grass. I used a basic ground texture and then, I wanted to slowly see the material transformation by adding, specular, glossiness, bump and displacement maps.

Difuse map

Terrain_norm

Then I decide to see the difference between using a bitmap with and without filter.

Diffuse map No Filter

Terrain_norm_NoFilter

Difuse + Specular map

Terrain_Reflec

Difuse + Specular + Glossiness maps

Terrain_Rgloss

Add a Bump map

Terrain_Disp

Then I tried to use a Displacement map, although in the scene this option will be turned off. There is no need to waste time using a displacement map if we don’t see it. However, I will use displacement to add more detail below the house.

Terrain_Bump7

Another test using a displacement map, but without a bump map.

Terrain_DispNoBump

I was happy with the material, but I felt that it didn’t look like soil, so using a VrayBlendMtl I blend another diffuse map to help achieve the look I wanted.

Terrain_new

This is just a really simple post to help me keep track of some tests I do with the materials. However, I want to create a specific post full of tips to help achieving realistic materials.

If you want this material just let me know.

PS: – Some of you requested this material, unfortunately I don’t have the textures anymore. However, here are the settings:

MaterialSettings

 

